# **Essex County Bowling Association 2023 Season**

4<sup>th</sup> Selection Games 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41 (Original Issue) Unbadged 1<sup>st</sup> Game, 2<sup>nd</sup> Game, 3<sup>rd</sup> Game, 4<sup>th</sup> Badge Game

# ESSEX v EASTERN COUNTIES (Game 34)

Venue: Bocking Alliance Bowls Club. Church Street, Bocking, Braintree. CM7 2PA Tuesday 8<sup>th</sup> August. Start time 2p.m.

Ben Amos	Essex County	Tony Ellis	Administrator	Peter Hart	Bocking Alliance
Pat Butler	Harlow	Paul Williams 2 <sup>nd</sup>	Great Baddow	Paul La Plain	Junior Deputy
Tim Lowes *	Eastwood Park	Dave Starkey	Senior Deputy	Andy Makings	Stock & Buttsbury
Richard Dodd	President	Josh Heffernan	Braintree	Rodger King	Bocking Alliance
Mike Newman	Great Baddow	Mel March	Larsen	Trevor Baxter	Wivenhoe
John Ovel	Bocking Alliance	Ken Spicer	Group 5 Sec	Derek Emms	Wivenhoe
Brian Norris	Stock & Buttsbury	John Bromfield	Silverthorn	Andy Jeffrey	Wivenhoe
Peter Clench	Three Clubs	Dave Jarrold	Media Officer	John Tully	Officer in Charge

# ESSEX v HERTFORDSHIRE (Game 35)

Venue: Buntingford Bowls Club. Wyddial Road, Buntingford. SG9 9AT Tuesday 29<sup>th</sup> August. Start time 2p.m.

Jordon Fleming	Kings Chase	Wally Whitehill	Group 9 Sec	Mel March	Larsen
Keith Smith	Radwinter	Mike Ferris	Dunmow	Alex Wightman	Saffron Walden
Chris Powell *	Griffin	Dave Starkey	Senior Deputy	Brian Stubbings	Life Member
Richard Dodd	President	Conway Fleming	Kings Chase	Graham Smith	Past President
Mike Armsworth	Radwinter	Graham Walkinshaw 3rd	Woods	Alan Greenham 2 <sup>nd</sup>	Harlow
Terry Mizen	Secretary	Tom Matthews	Wivenhoe	Stephen Hill	Officer in Charge
John Stewart	Essex County	Malcolm Phillips	Runwell	John Morgan	Upminster
Gary Telling	Essex County	Keith Emberson	Castle Point	Ian Harris	Colchester West End

## ESSEX v NORFOLK (Game 36)

Venue: Brightlingsea Bowls Club. Regent Road, Brightlingsea CO7 0NW Thursday 31<sup>st</sup> August. Start time 2p.m.

Keith Kerr	Chelmsford	Peter Barham	Wanstead Central	Peter Preston	Silverthorn
Graham Dansey	Brightlingsea	Terry Stevens	Thorpe Le Soken	Danny Doyle *	Griffin
Steve Dansey	Brightlingsea	Kevin Stoneman	Tiptree	David M-Gears	Past President
Richard Dodd	President	Dave Starkey	Senior Deputy	John Tully	Comp Secretary
Mel March	Larsen	Gordon Barrett	Past President	Jeff Daniells*	Stansted
Pat Finney	Officer in Charge	Stephen Hill	Stansted	John Daniells	Tiptree
Mark Hale	Thorpe Le Soken	Richard Gunn 1st	Chelmsford	Brian Hopkins	Thorpe Le Soken
Graham Smith	Past President	Mike Hartshorn	Maldon	Derek Cook	Writtle

# ESSEX v ISLE OF WIGHT (Game 37)

Venue: Suttons Bowls Club. Chalfont Way, Lower Earley, Reading, Berks. RG6 5HQ Tuesday 5<sup>th</sup> September. (**PLEASE NOTE START TIME 1.00 p.m.**)

John Sandell	Woodford	Mark Cohen	Past President	Tony Murray 2 <sup>nd</sup>	Thurrock
Howard Butcher	The Springhouse	Bill Stanton 1st	The Springhouse	Paul La Plain	Junior Deputy
Andy Eva	South Benfleet	Dave Starkey	Senior Deputy	John Bromfield	Silverthorn
Richard Dodd	President	Ray Vernon	Fairwood	Les Mercer	Silverthorn
				-	
David Brock	Silverthorn	Ken Smith	Essex County	Jeff Daniells	Stansted
Terry Mizen	Secretary	Pat Butler	Harlow	Stephen Hill 100th	Officer in Charge
Jim Garvan 1 <sup>st.</sup>	Steeple Bumpstead	Trevor Daughtrey	Thorpe Bay	Alistair Majewski	Silver End
Geoff Gasson	Maldon	Brian Hyland	Billericay	John Martin	Silver End

# ESSEX PRESIDENTS' SELECT SOUTH v NORTH (Game 38) (5 Rinks)

Venue: South Benfleet Bowls Club. Recreation Ground, Brook Road Benfleet SS7 5JA

Thursday 7<sup>th</sup> September. Start Time 2p.m.

Dave Griggs	Development	David O'Leary	Gidea Park	Bob Lockyer *	Wanstead
Paul La Plain	Junior Deputy	Mike Long	Clockhouse	Bob Chandler *	Wanstead
Dave Starkey	Senior Deputy	Howard Styles	Kings Chase	Keith Riley	Woodford
Dave King	Past President	Les Howard	Gidea Park	Bill Nelson	Wanstead Central

Chris Morris 1 <sup>st</sup>	South Benfleet	Joe McKie	The Springhouse
John Crowe	South Benfleet	Howard Butcher	The Springhouse
Chris Down	Southend	Cliff Powell	Aveley
Stuart Harvey	Southend	Derek Sageman	The Springhouse

# ESSEX PRESIDENTS' SELECT NORTH v SOUTH (Game 38) (5 Rinks)

Venue: South Benfleet Bowls Club. Recreation Ground, Brook Road Benfleet SS7 5JA

Thursday 7<sup>th</sup> September. Start Time 2p.m.

Neil Harvey	Loughton	Adrian Mann	Thorpe Le Soken	Steve Cook	Bocking Alliance
Wally Whitehill	Group 9 Secretary	Keith Merritt	Thorpe Le Soken	Stephen Hill	Stansted
Peter Barham	Wanstead Central	Brian Hopkins	Thorpe Le Soken	Keith Rojacs 2 <sup>nd</sup>	Courtauld Halstead
Richard Dodd	President	Dave Watts	Brightlingsea	Malcolm Stark	Braintree

Bob Pooley	Stock & Buttsbury	Ron Hearse 2 <sup>nd</sup>	Loughton
Dennis Sheldrake	Danbury	Brian Barrett 1st	Silverthorn
Mark Hughes	Lionmede	Pat Butler	Harlow
Phil Mitchell	Great Baddow	John Bromfield	Silverthorn

#### **ESSEX v WILTSHIRE** (Game 39)

Venue: Maidenhead Town Bowls Club. Oaken Grove, Maidenhead, Berks. SL6 6HL

Tuesday 12<sup>th</sup> September. Start time 2p.m.

Alf Spratt	Essex County	Sandy Dron	Past President	Colin Foster	Wanstead Central
Alan Tetlow 1st	Aldersbrook	David Barbone 1st	Brentwood	Cliff Powell	Aveley
Tony Allen *	Upminster	Alan Whale	Essex County	Wally Whitehill	Aveley
Richard Dodd	President	Dave Starkey	Senior Deputy	Graham Smith	Aveley

John Mc Andrews 3rd	Wanstead Cenrtal	Mel March	Larsen	Neil Harvey	Loughton
Colin Adams	Liberty	Bernie Argent	Larsen	Terry Mizen	Officer In Charge
Julian Williams	Essex County	Brian Walker 3rd	Runwell	Jamie Lambert 2 <sup>nd</sup>	Harold Hill
Kevin Robertson	Essex County	Keith Riley	Past President	Dave Jarrold	Media Officer

## ESSEX v SUFFOLK (Game 40)

Venue: Ipswich & District Bowls Club. 136 Rushmere Road, Ipswich IP4 4JJ

Thursday 14<sup>th</sup> September. Start time 2p.m.

indisduy i i sept	ember. Buit time 2p.i			-	
Phil Davies *	Writtle	Adrian Mann	Thorpe Le Soken	Neil Harvey	Loughton
Mike Bradburn 1st	Writtle	Keith Jones	Group 8 Secretary	Gordon Barrett	Witham
Keith Lodge	Writtle	Dave Starkey	Senior Deputy	Brian Hobbs	Handbook Editor
Richard Dodd	President	Ken Clarke	Past President	Dave Jarrold	Media Officer
Mark Cohen	Past President	Sandy Dron	Past President	Simon Toop	Mersea Island
Tom Matthews	Past President	Wally Whitehill	Group 9 Secretary	Pat Finney	Officer In Charge
John Ovel	Bocking Alliance	Tony Wallis	Tillingham	Keith Merritt	Thorpe Le Soken

Past President

Graham Smith

## ESSEX v ESSEX WOMEN (Game 41)

Witham

Venue: Witham Bowls Club. Collingwood Road, Witham CM8 2DY

Tuesday 19<sup>th</sup> September. Start time 2p.m.

Andy Cutts

Tuesday 19 <sup>th</sup> Sep	lember. Start time 2p.n	1.			
Tony Ellis	Administrator	Tony Turner	United Services	Gordon Barrett	Witham
Steve Laver *	South Benfleet	Paul La Plain	Junior Deputy	Pat Finney	Match Secretary
Danny Wakeling	Grays Town	Mike Brickel	Great Baddow	John Martin	Silver End
Richard Dodd	President	Dave King	Past President	Malcolm Stark	Braintree
Wally Whitehill	Group 9 Secretary	Dave Griggs	Romford	Kevin Brown 2 <sup>nd</sup>	Burnham Hillside
Neville Evans 3rd	Burnham Hillside	Ron Dixie	Thurrock	Terry Mizen	Officer in Charge
Andy Eva	South Benfleet	Mike Ferris	Dunmow	Jim Druce	South Benfleet
Keith Riley	Past President	Dave Jarrold	Media Officer	Mike Portway	Romford

Please Note: The above list of players is supplied by Group Selectors and is subject to change through non availability.

Thorpe Le Soken

Brian Hopkins